Student Poets Honored

April 26, 2022

The Student Poetry Contest is sponsored every spring by the Alfred C. O’Connell Library and invites entries from all GCC students. Following the entry deadline on March 30, this year’s panel of five judges reviewed the poems and chose the winners. Many thanks to this year’s judging committee: Doreen Bortle, Loy Gross, Jessica Hibbard, Nicki Lerczak, and Brodie McPherson. Each winning poet will receive a certificate and a gift card and will be recognized at the college-wide student awards ceremony on Tuesday, May 3. The winners will also join students from past contests on the library’s Poetry Contest webpage which stays active year-round. This annual program provides an opportunity for students to contribute to their community, hone their communication skills and express their creativity. This year’s Awards were:

Body of Work = Charina Gray
Honorable Mention – Body of Work = Uriah Howard Allis
First Prize = Gyandro Marselia
Second Prize = Bailee Murphy
Third Prize = Lydia R. Hofmann
Most Humorous = Isobel Scarisbrick